Story – Part 2

May 5, 2007

Monday morning we arrived at the hospital to begin what would turn out to be a very long day. One of the first things they had me do was to don that garment we all love the most, the hospital apron. I call it an apron and not a gown because no matter how you tie the strings, your backside seems to end up exposed. 🙂

A few sweet motherly nurses got me into a bed just in time for the doctor to arrive and explain what he would be doing in the surgery. He was expecting it to take around 4 hours to complete, and that afterward they would run a biopsy to see what type of cancer it was.

I remember it being cold, very cold – so cold my whole body was shivering uncontrollably. After the doctor left to prep for surgery, the nurses started putting blankets over me that had been heated.

When the shivering slowed down they left the room, but they didn’t leave me alone. My mom, step-dad and several of the guys I traveled with were there in the room with me. Just down the hall, two dozen family and friends had taken over a waiting room. I was surrounded by support.

A few minutes later the same nurses returned and began to wheel me down the hall and around the corner to a pre-op area. Everyone who had been in the room with me was able to walk along beside my bed until we reached the entrance to pre-op.

 
Now I was alone.

 
I remember my bed moving slowly through the pre-op entrance hall once we passed through the door. The walls were close on either side and it was dark. I remember everything coming together at that moment.

I leaned my head back on the pillow, closed my eyes, and spoke to God, “it’s just You and me now.”

 
Immediately my entire being was consumed and overwhelmed by the purest sense of peace I have ever felt. It wasn’t just a jolt of energy, rather, it seemed to cover me and set in. The tears rolled from my eyes for the peace, release and thankfulness I had. I am close to weeping as I think about it even now.

No matter what lay ahead, I knew that I would be alright. I just had an intimate moment with my Creator and I knew he was covering me.

 
As we cleared the hall, the nurses rolled me into a small curtained space. The anesthesiologist came to the side of my bed and hooked a needle into my IV. As he began to push the syringe he asked me to count down from 10.

I think I made it to 6…

< Part 1 | Part 3 >

 

Leave a Reply

