Salvation Garden

May 10, 2007

I was spending time reading and talking with God the other morning when I hit this in Hebrews.

“In simple humility, let our gardener, God, landscape you with the Word, making a salvation-garden of your life.”

I’ve read a different translation of this passage before, but this said it in a way that really connected with me.

C.S. Lewis, in his fictional book The Great Divorce, describes a picture of the afterlife. One individual who has arrived in heaven is able to look back on their entire life and instead of seeing the bad times as such, sees everything that was redeemed. They don’t deny them but see those times in the same light as the good, because they were all part of a life that has climaxed to where they now stand.

“You see those tomatoes over there? They were rotting. Now look at them, ripe, healthy and red! The squash over there, it was withered and almost dead. Today, I can’t say I’ve ever seen it as vibrant and nourished!!”

A salvation-garden? of my life? Count me in.

Leave a Reply

